Tattoo Tuesday – Ribs

This is my left ribs tattoo. It is song lyrics from Tiger Army – Santa Carla Twilight

Watch the moon rise tonight

the ocean looms past bonfires alight

I am a stranger in this place

And when I see you, I can’t turn away

Under this beach lie pirate bones

We stand above them at long last alone

There’s something different in your heart

You’re not afraid of the darkness within us all.

 

 

The song is my me and my ex’s song. Before you think it, no. I don’t regret getting this on me when we are now broken up. I actually got it after we broke up.

We had a great relationship – he is one of my best friends now. He taught me a lot about life and a lot about myself. He helped me become who I am today. If I hadn’t been with him in the first place, I wouldn’t be where I am now and for that, I thank him.

I think it is a beautiful tribute to the relationship we had and the friendship we have now.

(not to mention it’s my favourite song).

 

Do you have a tattoo for someone special to you?

8 thoughts on “Tattoo Tuesday – Ribs

  1. My first boyfriend and i were together for 18 months and have been friends now for 10 years. So i can understand why you wouldnt regret this tattoo, Love it! its got great meaning behind it x

  2. The five small birds I have over my shoulder blade are symbolic of family and home for me.
    I am in the process of designing one that will go on my wrist for my Dad, he has terminal cancer and it’s a tattoo I have wanted for a long time. The artist who did the birds on my back is also a fisherman, and he expressed a desire to tattoo the one for Dad, as I want a certain type of fly fishing lure tattooed and some words form a quite.
    It needs to be small and has very fine detail, but I’m confident he can do it well.
    I also have a bigger tattoo I want on my ribs – but I’m a bit worried about the pain for that one!

  3. Beautiful verse, and a nice story with it. He’s a lucky guy to have such a strong friendship with you.
    I don’t have any tattoos, but there are some songs I love to play because they remind me of certain people and times in my life, and what they taught me.

  4. That’s really beautiful! I have a small tattoo on my left hip of a chinese symbol meaning ‘truth’. The symbol really holds no significance, more the fact that myself, my brother and my four step-sisters all had the same tattoo done on my Dad and Step-Mum’s wedding day to signify the uniting of two families.

  5. —-oh, that is sooooo cool. I love it.
    I do not have a tattoo, but if i did, it would say : Kim & Kay (inside big pink lips) dedicated to my lovely sister & soul mate who was murdered last year.
    popping in from LBS. xx

  6. I love that you are still such great mates with your ex. Even if things don’t go well, or end well, those relationships shape the people we become.

    BTW, you should so make Tattoo Tuesday a link-up for us inked-up Mummas. I’ve only got four, but I want more, and I’d love to join in.

  7. I have my favourite Ralph Waldo Emerson quote down my side.
    “What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies with in us”

    it was given to me on a bookmark over 15 years ago, and last year I had it written on my body. I’m so glad I did. It means so much to me.

    I want to get it added to… framed somehow, and with in that “framing” words that represent the things that do lie within me…

    have I mentioned I’m so glad that I found you again. 🙂 and love your tattoo tuesday!

Show me it's not just my Mum that reads my blog... Comment please?

