When are we “Grown Up”?

I turn 24 tomorrow.

Me, tomorrow

I have 2 children and an “other half”.

Does this make me grown up?

I don’t think it does. I don’t feel grown up. I don’t have a house of my own. I don’t have a mortgage, a veggie patch, an amazing SMEG Fridge.

We live in a unit on the bad side of town.

I still find myself saying “when I grow up…”

I still giggle about farts in public. I giggle about most things that are inappropriate in public, actually.

I love playing Dungeons and Dragons/World of Warcraft/Feng Shui

But, in the same token –

I recently gave tattoodaddy an ultimatum to quit smoking.

I don’t drink because I just don’t enjoy it.

I appreciate the benefits of an hour of yoga on my soul.

I don’t drink coffee because it gives me the shakes – so I drink Chai Lattes (on soy).

I can’t stand Pop music with the exception of Adele because she at least has some talent.

My Mum always tells me that I’m born in the wrong era. I would love to  wear full skirts, just under the knee, hair done and gloves – every day. But I don’t think this makes me grown up either.

Maybe we are never meant to feel grown up? Perhaps when that happens, life gets boring?

Are you grown up?

Annnndddd THIS is how you eat a cake

5 thoughts on “When are we “Grown Up”?

  1. Happy birthday for tomorrow Jess. Here’s to never feeling grown up. Life’s too short to take things too seriously (except for getting tattoo daddy to quit smoking-nice work 🙂 ).

    Some days I feel a little too grown up then I get in the wading pool or jump on the trampoline with the kids – that usually sorts me out xxxx

  2. Happy Birthday for tomorrow!
    I feel and think the same way, But I don’t think we grow up, I think we just grow…
    I think Farts are hilarious, yet I don’t drink or smoke, and I am stuck in the 50’s aswell!!!

  3. Pretty great post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to mention that
    I have really loved browsing your weblog posts.
    In any case I will be subscribing for your feed and I’m hoping you write once more soon!

  4. It’s amazing to pay a quick visit this website and reading the
    views of all mates about this paragraph, while
    I am also keen of getting experience.

Show me it's not just my Mum that reads my blog... Comment please?

