Ho Ho fucking Ho.

I am so completely over Christmas.

We have three families. I have one set of parents, TD has two.

Lucky for my children, they have 6 sets of grandparents plus the great grandparents that get added in when one marries into a family.

Unfortunately, this means there is a lot of visiting to happen at Christmas.

And when people don’t get their way, they don’t like it.

One parent in particular may as well be stamping his feet or laying on the floor kicking and screaming he is acting that childish.

I’m almost at the point of saying “Fine! We’re not visiting anyone!” I will stay at my house and eat ninjabread cookies and if you want to see me or my children, you come and visit us.

That’s how it was when I was younger, everyone visited us because it was easier that way. I know for most of my family members it’s not possible because of work commitments etc and it IS easier for us to visit because we have a little more flexibility but for Whoever’s sake, just give us a break!

I just feel like the whole spirit of Christmas is lost in who’s doing what, who’s seeing who, when’s it my turn, what do you want?

If you don’t know me well enough to get me something I will love – without having to ask me – you shouldn’t be buying me a present. That simple.

What I want is to not be asked “What do you want?” Every five minutes. I also don’t want to be asked “Is X dollars an ok amount?” Yes, it’s fine. Anything is fine. Anything is going to be appreciated. There is no need for he’s spending this much so I have to, too. It’s pointless and takes the thought out of it in my opinion.

And for FUCK SAKES people. Learn how to drive, use your indicators and park. We’re all in a rush. We all still have a bagillion things to do before Santa comes.ย  Would it KILL you to show some Christmas spirit in the car park? And if one more sorry arse lazy person parks in the parent parking, I will give my toddler the keys and stand him next to your car.

Now, I’m going to go and make my ninjabread cookies. And find my Christmas spirit in the bottom ofย a glass of moscato.

16 thoughts on “Ho Ho fucking Ho.

  1. Oh chickybabe ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I get where you are coming from!

    We stay home. Got sick of all the cabbage YEARS ago. Have to say I LOVE IT! We might take off and go somewhere [just us], it makes the day just totally awesome.

    Bugger everyone else, it’s a day FOR THE KIDS! Not the whining adults!

    Merry Christmas hun xxx

    • TD asked me what I wanted to do for Christmas. I told him I wanted to stay here with my ninjabread and anyone who wanted to see us can come here. Don’t think it’ll happen though ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Thank goodness ALL our families are overseas or just very very far away, especially this time of year, I could not handle all this kind of family politics really! Good luck, and here’s a glass of Moscato for your sanity-cheers!

  3. Last year we went away for Christmas to avoid such drama. It was bliss! So relaxing.
    Can’t wait to see photos of the Ninja biscuits

  4. I have repeated almost all of your words at some point this season!

    In fact, last night I lost my shit and swore on my life I was booking us into a resort somewhere far far away for next year, and if hubby doesn’t like it I’ll go by myself!

    We have the opposite gift problems. We get the decree from MIL that the family has decided not to do presents because it’s too much money and puts pressure on everyone. Which is their way of being insulting about our financial situation, and also getting out of giving me or my children anything because I am the devil. So I insist on always having a gift for all the kids in the family, even if it puts their noses out of joint.

    The best part of moving away next year is being able to insist that we can’t come back because hubby is “harvesting”. And if he’s not I will tell them that anyway!

  5. After the craziness of me and only me organising Christmas Lunch at our house last year with the in-laws, (who turned up almost 2 HOURS late) I was dead set on going away this year. But then, couldnt figure out how to take all the crap ie, presents with us in our not big enough car…so that went out the window.

    And now somehow I have been sucked in to having xmas dinner HERE at our house with BOTH sides of the family. Im not even sure how it happened. I need to learn how to say NO! Next year, Iam definetly going away….

    • Oh I also told my family many of times we would NOT be buying gifts as we just could not afford it…right, like that went down well. Grrr…why cant people just be happy enough to spend time with family. Who cares about presents?!

      I for one would be upset if someoen bought me a gift and then I found out they had gone without just to buy it. :/

  6. We’re lucky that our families live on opposites sides of the country. We spend alternate years with each, and so far it’s kept everyone happy. I don’t envy your situation at all, but I’m keeping my fingers crossed for you that ut all goes smoothly.

  7. We used to travel all over from family member to family member, making sure we saw everyone on christmas day, but not after having kids. I want my kids to spend Christmas day on a slip slide not in a car (we don’t actually have a slip & slide, but you know what I mean). Do what makes you & your children have the most enjoyable day & see the others on Boxing day. As for presents I agree with what you said.. asking & discussing before hand does kind of take the point out of it. This year we have gone prezzies for kids only & a Kris Kringle for adults… too easy.

Show me it's not just my Mum that reads my blog... Comment please?

