Internetz, you make me cranky.

You’re drooling right now, aren’t you? And rightfully so. Look at how Delicious that looks?!

And it was. It was absolutely Delicious.

But do you know why I’m cranky internetz?

BECAUSE WHEN I STUMBLEUPON, THIS IS ALL I SEE!
(not this specific picture, I took this picture)

 

All I see is recipes chock FULL of sugar. Of fat. Of 7 Layer OMG to DIE for Devil’s Food Cake with Sour Cream Ganache but when you bake, you had better bake two, you’ll need the second one to bribe your surgeon with so you can jump the queue when you need that triple bypass surgery after eating it.

This breakfast (above) actually isn’t that bad. It’s French Toast with bananas, strawberries, maple syrup dusted in icing sugar. And yes, there IS too much sugar in there. But it was a treat!

From what I’m reading, people have breakfasts like this and cakes like that, EVERY FUCKING DAY.

It made me sad.

It made me think no wonder, as a world, we are obese.

We are pretty much eating ourselves to death. Literally.

What happened to FRESH? What happened to REAL? What happened to eating for fuel, not for pleasure?
I’m not saying I never bake something purely to enjoy eating it, but you know what? I have never made a Devil’s Food cake. And I don’t really have the urge too.
What happened to going to the local market and buying fruit and vegetables. To knowing what you’re eating. Knowing what it is for.

There is a point to this ranty pants post though (promise).
This year, I am going to give you MORE recipes. Healthy recipes. Recipes you can use every day and not feel guilty about it.

Full of fresh and healthy and good.
I’m going to grow some of my own veggies and share that with you too.

I’m going to make sure my son and daughter have the best possible relationship with food that they can. ( <Not dramatic at all… right?)

Disclaimer – I do have a recipe coming up that has 500g of sugar in it. But it’s a chutney recipe. And it makes about 8 jars of chutney. So it evens out, if that makes sense, because it’s REAL, homemade and all those things 🙂

8 thoughts on “Internetz, you make me cranky.

  1. I am finding the same problem ….switch it off maybe or I’ll sew my lips shut and drink vegie juices and soups.
    Now you know you did it to me and I want French toast …do you have the recipe.

    • Sorry, I got this from a local cafe. But it’s just ordinary french toast made with sourdough bread, chopped bananas, strawberries, drizzled with maple syrup and dusted with icing sugar. The menu had toasted almond flakes with it as well, but I’m not a fan 😉

      I don’t want to switch off stumbleupon, because I DO love it, I’ve found many great things on there, just lately everything is “bad” food!

  2. I would love to do more of this with the kidlets but I also know that as a person who was raised on fresh, unprocessed real food devoid of pretty much all processed sugar it in no way improved my relationship with food. At all. And if anything my rebellion against it still impacts on my relationship with food today. Not that I would use that as a reason or an excuse not to cook healthy food and have lots of fresh options for my kids and I definitely want to start a veggie garden – but I also will make those cupcakes or that devils food cake or give them ice cream.

  3. Pingback: Ring of Deliciousness – Recipe « tattoomummy

  4. Pingback: Feel Good French Toast « tattoomummy

Show me it's not just my Mum that reads my blog... Comment please?

