Ring of Deliciousness – Recipe

So in my Stumblings, I keep seeing “Monkey Bread” pop up.

From what I can gather, it’s American (because I’ve never eaten it) and it’s various sized balls of dough cooked in a ring tin. And it can be either sweet, or savory. Pretty much like a pull apart loaf, but more attractive looking.

So I decided to make my own version.

And I of course will be eating my words and making a sweet one.

I don’t really think this is anywhere near as bad as the cakes I was bitching about. Shut up.

So, first we have the sweet dough recipe:

  • 3 cups plain flour (divided)
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tsp tandaco dry yeast
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp mixed spice

Mix dry ingredients MINUS ONE CUP FLOUR together in a bowl.
Place wet ingredients MINUS egg in a microwave proof bowl/jug. Microwave for approx 1min 30 seconds or until all is melted and heated. Stir.
Pour into dry ingredients and mix until just blended.
Add remaining flour and egg and mix well.
Knead for about 10 mins or until stretchy.
Place dough in a ball, cover and let rise until dough doubles in size. (I left mine in the fridge overnight to slow rise so we could bake it first thing in the morning on Sunday)

When risen, punch it in the middle.
Knead for about 5 mins. (If you let it do an overnight rise in the fridge, you might want to microwave it for about 30 seconds to just take the cold out of it – it’s easier to work with)

Then for the really simple yet delicious part.

2/3 cup brown sugar
1 tbsp mixed spice

Put them in a container with a lid and give it to you “helpful” child to shake. Shake thouroughly.Every time they stop, tell them it needs a bit more shaking.

Preheat over to 180 degrees.
Grease a ring pan or a kuglehopf ring.
Rip a bit of dough off. Form a ball.
Roll it in the sugar mixture.
Place in the ring tin, repeat until all the dough is used. The balls don’t need to be the same size


Gently press the top layer down, so what will become the base is even.
Bake for approx 1hour 10 minutes

 

This is delcious. Amazing. (I’m pretty modest). It would go great with some dried fruit in there instead of hot cross buns at Easter. Or chocolate chips. If you’re going to add them, I’d add about a cup of either at the second kneading stage.

2 thoughts on “Ring of Deliciousness – Recipe

  1. And where was my piece this morning to have with my cuppa?

    Just as well I don’t have an oven or I would have put on 17 kg instead of losing it with all these lovely recipes you keep finding.

Show me it's not just my Mum that reads my blog... Comment please?

