White Chocolate and Mixed Berry Scones

I LOVE scones. My Mum always used to make them when I was a child because Dad loves scones. Mum actually hates them. She’s a little weird.

The main thing I love about scones is that they are a real get your hands dirty food. When you need to just be doing something, scones are the best solution. These ones are even better because they have white chocolate in them.

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups SR flour
  • 1 cup white choc chips
  • 1 cup mixed berries, rinsed and drained
  • 80 g unsalted butter, cubed
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • flour – extra for dusting

Method:

  • Preheat oven to 200 degrees celsius
  • In a large bowl (I use a big fruit bowl) place the 3 cups flour and cubed butter. Using your hands mush the butter and the flour together until it looks breadcrumb-y and holds a shape (See picture 2)
  • Add white chocolate chips and berries. Mix
  • Add milk. Mix with a knife until just mixed (don’t worry if you cut the berries up).
  • Get your hands in there and ensure it is really mixed in well. At this point I dusted with another 1/4 cup of flour so my hands didn’t stick to the dough.
  • Lightly flour you bench. transfer dough to bench and smooth out to approx 2cm thick.
  • Using a glass or cup with a diameter of about 4cm – 5cm (depending on how big you want your scones), dip into flour first and press into your dough.
  • Place into trays lines with baking paper.
  • Repeat until all the dough is used. When cutting the dough, just re-roll it when there is nowhere else to cut, smooth it out to the 2cm and begin again until all is used.
  • Cook in oven for 25 – 30 mins until golden.

 

Tip: I love placing my scones on a tray just touching so they have that professional look where they have to be broken apart.

Tip – if you have a little bit too much left over, give it to the kids to shape things out of – I used to love making plait scones when my Mum was baking as a child

5 thoughts on “White Chocolate and Mixed Berry Scones

Show me it's not just my Mum that reads my blog... Comment please?

