Rethinking My Course

You didn’t see me around on the weekend because I went away.
To Lismore, actually.
To do a weekend residential for my Uni degree that apparently wasn’t as compulsory as implied, if the number of students who didn’t turn up is anything to go by.
But it was ok.
Just ok.
Our subject coordinator is lovely, very helpful and funny.
The other teachers were nice.
Although there were Macs everywhere – which personally, I’m not a fan of – I feel like I learnt something this weekend.

But still.
I’m just not sure this is what I want to do.
A Bachelor of Media, I am finding covers basic design, basic movie making, and basic journalism.
You can decide to spec in one of those areas.
I chose a Design major, but I was hoping for more than Youtube tutorials week in week out.
I could have done that myself and saved a lot of money.
I want to learn graphic design, maybe some animation for character design, website building.

Maybe I need to be doing an Information Technology course instead.
A more computer oriented course, given what I want to do.

It’s such a tough decision, because I don’t want to waste all this work that I’ve already done.
But at the same time, how long do you hold out hoping you’ll start to like it?
I never expected Adult Learning to be this difficult.

In school it was just , the teacher knows best and is right.
Now, I have a little bit more experience.
I am capable of questioning things we are taught and the methods used.
And to be honest, I’m not completely satisfied with either from my Institution.

Has any other Mature Aged Students felt this way?
Is it just because I’m an external student? Or because I’m just getting back into it?

8 thoughts on “Rethinking My Course

  1. Dropped out of my course for the same reasons šŸ˜¦

    Can you apply for advanced standing for the subjects you’ve already done into another course so it’s not a total waste? Good luck x

  2. As you know, I’m doing post grad studies in education…and yeah, it’s not easy. If you do want to change courses, first talk to a co-ordinator or lecturer just to make sure what you want to learn isn’t going to be taught later on. Then, find the course you want to do, and get RPL so that what you have studied so far won’t go to waste. I did that.

    Give yourself time. Being external is bloody hard and being ‘mature’ (pish) is even trickier.

  3. I completely understand the feeling. I started a degree in secondary teaching, switched to primary teaching, then husband got a job and we moved so I switched to OUA doing arts. I have contemplated many courses and quit for a few years to travel and have kids. I’ve recently picked it back up and intend to get an arts degree with a web communication major (through curtin), and it’s the first time I’ve loved the subjects. Includes web design, social media, marketing, web writing etc. Looking back I should have known earlier with other paths I’ve attempted that they weren’t going to pan out. But I figure there’s no hurry and it’s better to do something you love than something that is okay.

    I hope you figure out what you want!! Good luck šŸ™‚

  4. Those feelings of self doubt are normal. I started off doing early childhood but thought it was too limiting so I changed and got a degree in Social Science instead. This suited me much better and was far more rewarding as it was broader and allowed me to work across a variety of sectors. I did it externally but I found I had to be organised and disciplined and manage my time. The uni was supportive and it helped doing something I belived in and was passionate about doing. However, things change and my degree has now been re-structured so instead of going back to uni I built on it doing TAFE certificates and diplomas which was also much more cost effective. The key is to really liking what you do, trust your instincts and good luck with your studies and career šŸ™‚

  5. Nothing is wasted. Even if you don’t end up using what you’ve learned, you have also learned what you don’t want to do, and that is important. I’ve started and dropped tertiary study several times, and eventually you just hit on the one that’s right.

Show me it's not just my Mum that reads my blog... Comment please?

