A Letter to my Three Year Old

I’m sitting here writing this and you are sitting on the rug behind me.
This time three years a go I was in hospital knowing I would be meeting you for the first time tomorrow.

Ever since this day three years a go, I have known you are full of life and energy.
The midwife checked me to induce me and I was already 4cm dilated. At 37.5 weeks, you were already on your way.

Stubborn, headstrong, wilful. Amazing.

You are the centre of an amazing universe. One of joy, amazement, laughter and passion. Whether you are happy, sad, frustrated, curious or anything in between, you are always passionate.

You have an amazing love for life, love for family and love for your friends.
And we all love you too.

I know all parents say it, but I can’t imagine my life without you.
Sometimes I try.
I try and think of the amazing sleep-ins I would be having… But waking up with you curled against me is one of the warmest feelings on earth. I wouldn’t give it up for the world.
I try and remember enjoying a hot cup of coffee… But going to a cafe and not ordering you a chai latte just seems like half an order.

You have filled my life in so many ways.
You have helped me become who I am today.
I wouldn’t be who I am without you and so, I try to help you become the best you can be.

You are thoughtful, impulsive, beautiful, fun, energetic, brave, curly haired, stubborn and growing up right before my eyes.

It is so hard to believe that I have had you, held you, rocked you, kissed your face, brushed the hair off your forehead, shared your tears, counted your fingers and toes, wondered in your presence for 3 years now.
It is not hard to believe that I have loved you the entire time.
You have made me see the world in a whole new light.

You are one of the most precious things I will ever hold.
I am so proud to be your mama.

I love you baby.

Show me it's not just my Mum that reads my blog... Comment please?

