Sexualising Children.

 

 

 

I was browsing Pintrest last night.
Now I’m not going to lie. There are a lot of things on that website that make me think what the fuck?! such as recipes that include a bag of Nacho Cheese Doritos.

But the above image actually makes me feel ill.
This particular picture was pinned onto a board named “Kiddos With Style”.

I see no style here.
All I see is a little girl who is striking a pose and wearing clothing that is way beyond her years.
I can’t comprehend what would possess a photographer to pose a child like that.
I can’t comprehend how a parent could approve that going to print.
I can’t comprehend why it needs to appear the girl child is desirable to the boy child.
I can’t comprehend how someone thought an advertisement for a child’s swimming costume should take place anywhere other than on a beach with said child playing with buckets and spades, building sandcastles – the things CHILDREN are supposed to do.

It sickens and saddens me that little boys and girls SEE these images.
They are influenced more than most people realise by advertising and soon, this could be my daughter. This could be my son.

It completely terrifies me that they will have to navigate their way through a world that would have them acting so old whilst looking so young and the impacts of that on their childhood.
And to be honest, I have no idea what I can do about it.
I can’t shield them from the world.
Sexualisation is everywhere. Men and women alike.

Hopefully sexualisation of children such as this are few and far between.

 

One thought on “Sexualising Children.

  1. I’m not a mum and I thoroughly agree with you! People say the onus is on the parents not to buy the sexualised clothes but I think just as much onus is on the stores and the producers to make and sell these clothes. What ever happened to being able to buy a nice little sundress for a girl and shorts with some extra space in the back for a nappy?

Show me it's not just my Mum that reads my blog... Comment please?

