Things I’ll Teach My Son

It’s hard raising children. Both sexes have different things that need to be tackled. Some of those delicate, some of those not so. Raising children scares me because I can’t help but think “What if I get it wrong?” which is silly, I know. There is no right way to do it. All of us are just doing the best we can.

This is a list of things I want to make sure I teach my son…

  1. Always say “Excuse me” before interrupting anyone.
  2. Open the door for others, especially ladies and let everyone walk through first.
  3. Never be too proud to ask for help, no matter how small or tedious you think the problem may be.
  4. There is no excuse or valid reason for bullying.
  5. Bullies are very, very sad people who need more love in their lives.
  6. It is ok to stand up for yourself. It is also ok to stand up for others.
  7. Look into someone’s eyes when you say “I love you”.
  8. Believe in yourself.
  9. Never stop asking questions. Learn your whole life and enjoy it.
  10. Being physically strong is good, but being emotionally and mentally strong is great.
  11. Everything in moderation.
  12. Never diet. Have a healthy, balanced lifestyle and you will not go wrong.
  13. Find a sport you enjoy and pursue it. If you stop enjoying it, find something else.
  14. Life is too short to hold grudges.
  15. Learn how to change a tire. do an oil change and flush your radiator.
  16. You will fall down. There are times you won’t feel you can get back up – or you won’t want to – but you need to, because you will do great things.
  17. Always be kind to animals.
  18. Read as many books as you can. Savour the feeling of the pages in your hands and the smell as you turn the page.
  19. Love fully and with all your heart.
  20. Shower every day.
  21. Remember we will ALWAYS love you. No matter where, no matter when, no matter your age, you can always call us and we will answer. You can always come visit and be wrapped into a hug. You can always believe that we believe in you.
  22. See not only what a person is, but what a person can be.
  23. Always get to know a person before you decide whether you like them or not.
  24. Everyone needs a friend.
  25. Boys need beauty routines too.
  26. You need to be the kind of boy your sister looks for.
  27. Say “I’m sorry” and mean it.
  28. Find someone who compliments you and makes you a better person and aim to be the same for her.
  29. Patience really IS a virtue
  30. Look after yourself. Especially your teeth.
  31. Don’t pick a scabs.
  32. Learn to cook. Have about 10 recipes you know off by heart.
  33. Live within your means.
  34. Take photos. Lots and often.
  35. You’ll never regret time spent just cuddling.
  36. Time is never wasted if you’re with ones you love.
  37. You will never have to prove yourself to me.
  38. Reduce, reuse, recycle.
  39. Don’t buy a designer puppy/kitten. Rescue one and give it a new lease on life. They know and it will love all the much more for it.
  40. Write down your thoughts so when you grow up you can look back and say “That really wasn’t as bad as I thought it was”
  41. Eat breakfast every day.
  42. See the world. Start with Australia. We have some amazing things here that should not be missed.
  43. Apricot and Almond cheese is the best invention ever.
  44. Serve scones with Apple Chutney.
  45. Never be afraid to say “I love you”.

What would be on your list?

13 thoughts on “Things I’ll Teach My Son

  1. Love your list.
    Some of the things I say to my kids: just because you can, doesn’t mean you should,
    never be afraid to fly your freak flag, fly it high and proud.
    When people aren’t being very nice to you, try to remember that there is a pretty good chance that they will e living ordinary little lives, and you will be living an extraordinary one!
    Own your mistakes/behaviour.
    If you do something wrong, don’t lie to me about it. Tell me the truth because I will always find out, and I would much rather find out from you.

  2. One thing my dad always told me was “If you don’t enjoy it, why are you doing it?” It’s something I’ve tried to stick with
    Oh and “Don’t pick your scabs!” as well.. But I did that anyway

  3. You have done pretty well honey but I will add two things that your grumpa always said too. 1. A gentleman should always walk on the kirb side of the footpath next to the lady and 2. always make your bed in the morning because then your room looks ‘almost’ clean and tidy. Love you and love the way you and Pat are bringing up my grandchildren.

  4. What an amazing list – I think this should be a guide for every little dude on the PLANET !!!!! If you can instill these onto your little Dexter he will be one fabulous amazing guy! xx

  5. After an experience today, my list when I get around to having children will include children not sitting down on seats while looking at an elderly lady with a walking stick stands.

Show me it's not just my Mum that reads my blog... Comment please?

