How I Explained Easter to a 3 Year Old

image

The Easter bunny came to our house last night, as I’m sure it did in many houses.
If you follow my Facebook page, you might have noticed a post earlier this week about feeling torn on what to do for Easter as we follow no set religion.
I thought long and hard.
This morning I said to Dexter “do you know why the Easter bunny visited us? ”
At which point he looked at me like I was an idiot and replied “to give us chocolate! ”
I asked if he knew why the Easter bunny left us chocolate. He did not.

I then told him about how soon, the earth will go to sleep. How where we live, we are lucky because we still will have lots of green trees, but loud of the trees and flowers will sleep through the cold. That the days will get short and the nights will be cold.
I told him that the Easter bunny comes and visits us before it gets to cold to give us presents to remind us that once the cold is gone, the sun will return. The flowers will grow and the earth will come back to life. The animals will have beautiful babies.

The Easter bunny brings us lollies and chocolate to warm our tummy and make us smile when winter seems child and dark.

I guess technically, you’d call it a variation of a pagan belief.
I don’t really care what it’s called.
I think I did well

Happy Easter to everyone, and enjoy celebrating, whichever way you do it.

2 thoughts on “How I Explained Easter to a 3 Year Old

  1. I like this. Specially considering the celebration seems to have far more commercial significance than spiritual these days! And you’ve reminded me that when I was a kid it WAS about new life, growth, and so on, even if it doesn’t really match the seasons down here. I love the way you’ve explained the chocolate, too 🙂 Thank you!

Show me it's not just my Mum that reads my blog... Comment please?

