10 Week Challenge – Final Results

image

image

image

And so, just like that – my challenge is done for now.
In hindsight, I feel I could have done more, pushed harder, tried harder. But as they say, hindsight is 20/20.

I am still incredibly proud of how far I have come.
In total, I have lost about 1kg.
I have rid myself of 28.5cm.
I have gone from 31.7% body fat to 20.32% body fat.

I am now in the athletic range for girls.

I never said how I have done it. I have never detailed my workouts and I think it’s something I’m going to start doing more often, as working out has become a big part of my life.
I enjoy it – it makes me feel alive.
It makes me appreciate my body not just more how it looks, but for what it can do.

So my challenge – how did I do it?

Hard. Fucking. Work.

No simple carbs. No white rice, No White Breads, No white Pastas. I didn’t even have white potato because the amount of carbs in white potato vs sweet potato – well, it’s a lot more satisfying to have sweet potato. I had 5 – 6 meals a day. All of them counted and measured for their nutritional content.

I went to the gym, for at least an hour, 6 days a week. Sundays are usually my big workout day and I am there for 2.5 hours.
I lift weights. Lots of them. And lots of reps.
I do the things I hate doing – the things I know I’ll be sore for in the morning, because if I don’t do them, I’m not improving.

If something is hard to do, do it twice.

I listened to my trainer. I (for the most part) resisted temptation.
I didn’t just give up if I had a bad meal. If I didn’t feel like going that day. The next day is a new day.
the next meal is a new meal.
Everything is a chance to be better, do better.

I threw out all the shit in my cupboard so that it wouldn’t be there to eat when I did want it.
I learned the joy of eating again.
by taking time while eating I realised the amazing flavours in fresh foods – roasted beetroot, OMG.

I documented everything. I took a ridiculous amount of selfies. Because fuck everything, prove achievements to yourself.

I asked countless questions about the right way and the wrong way to do things.
I was honest when I was bored or not motivated and worked to find something else to do that better fit.

I let go of commitments when I was have too much trouble being dedicated to them all.

I made myself feel good, believe in my abilities.

I motivated my children and got them interested in eating good food.
My children now request sushi instead of Macdonalds.
Fruit or veg instead of chips.

Of course they have the odd moment of wanting chocolate or lollies, but that’s okay – because we are learning how our body works and the best way to fuel it.

I am setting my children up for a healthy.Β  happy attitude toward food and their body and I can’t wait for the next set of achievements.

I have been asked what my next set of goals are, so I give you:

girl

18 thoughts on “10 Week Challenge – Final Results

    • Thanks so much Jess!
      If you can’t go to the gym, get a fitball and some handweights, you can do so many of the exercises with them!
      If you can afford it, get a weight bar too – they are selling a Michelle Bridges pack at Big W. Use the fit ball for wall assisted squats and them the bar for free squats – most of my chest and arms, some back and triceps has been using the hand weights πŸ™‚
      Good luck!

  1. I just found you via the FYBF Linky and…look at you! I’m moving houses in 2 weeks and after that is done I have grand plans of losing some more weight. I’m not aiming to look like a fitness model, just to get a bit more toned and lose tthat flabby mummy tummy that’s sitting on top of my abs. Maybe I should use you as motivation?!

  2. Pingback: I Got a Job! | tattoomummy

Show me it's not just my Mum that reads my blog... Comment please?

