A Letter to my Little Sister

Canon EF 135mm f2.0 L USMDear Sister,

You are currently on the other side of the world, and you’ve been there a total of a week on Thursday.

You have told me “I can’t do this.”
But you are wrong.

You are, by nature, the most stubborn person I have ever met. I have never before met someone so sure they are right. In their words, their actions, their thoughts.
I have never met someone so sure that her way is the only way for something to be done.

I have watched you do things you say you cannot do.
I have watched when you thought going to the gym was too hard, was pointless, wasn’t where you needed to be, but you did it anyway because you are stubborn and you were going to make it work, dammit.

You are helping a family raise small children.

I have never seen someone so eager to assist with parenting. To the point I have sometimes had to tell you to back off because I was actually the parent.
I have never seen someone who was not a parent connect with children so easily and understand them so well.
I have never seen children trust someone as quickly as they seem to trust you.
I have never met anyone that has the same potential to make the difference you do.

You are on the other side of the world. Where France and Scotland and England is literally a weekend trip.
You don’t know when you’ll be there again. Don’t miss out because you’re missing us.

I know that it will work because you are an amazing young woman.
My children are lucky enough to have had you help raise them for the first 4 and 2 years of their lives.
IT is time you shared your beauty, charisma, attitudes, personality with other people, should they be so fortunate.

It is time you believed in yourself.
You were made to help people’s children.
You have always wanted to do this.
You are beautiful, strong, stubborn and wonderful.
Those children need you in their lives, just for a bit.

 

I love you and I’m proud to be your sister.

 

One thought on “A Letter to my Little Sister

  1. Oh this is beautiful. You are such a lovely big sister.
    I wanted to manny overseas before I had children of my own. Still wish I could be but I doubt anyone has a position that will allow you to bring your own kids.

Show me it's not just my Mum that reads my blog... Comment please?

