But What If You Regret Them?

But what if you regret them?
What if it stops meaning the same thing to you?
What if you don’t like that song any more?

These are questions I (and I’m sure anyone with visible tattoos) gets asked on a semi-regular basis.

I have a murloc tattoo from a game (World of Warcraft) that I no longer play with the same dedication as I had when I got my tattoo.
I have a tattoo of a girl on my hip who is being undressed by an octopus – just because I think the artists, both the tattoo artist and the original artist are amazing at their chosen field and I wanted their art on me.

I have lyrics from the song of my ex and I. OUR song.

Do I regret it?
No.

Those times – were all amazing times in my life. World of Warcraft was how tattoodaddy and I spent many a night together. Working together, strategising, conversing, wholeheartedly enjoying each other’s company. Learning our strengths and weaknesses together and in each other.
How could I regret something that reminded me of that time?

Do I regret the lyrics from a former boyfriend etched onto my ribs – close to my heart? Hell no. I loved him dearly and still care about him greatly. He is so happy right now, as am I. Without my time with him, I would not be the person I am and therefor I wouldn’t be in the place that I am now.
How can I regret any decision that has made me the person who I am today?

Every mark is a memory – a tribute – to the person I am at that point in time. I owe it to myself and to those in my life who share it with me to honour those memories and those feelings.
How could I ever regret loving the person I am in the moment I’m in?

5 thoughts on “But What If You Regret Them?

  1. I love this!
    I have “little ray of sunshine” written on my left shoulder which is my older brothers song. he passed away before I was born, but he is a big part of my family and I will always carry him with me.

  2. My first two tattoo’s? I would probably rather not have them anymore. The first one because in all honesty it doesn’t have meaning behind it and it isn’t a reflection of who I am (or was) at all. The second was a dodgy job. It’s bigger than I wanted, and higher than I wanted. Don’t drink and get inked. That’s all I can say (it was on a whim too).
    My latest addition is my favorite at the moment. I just feel like it is something that I can carry with me throughout life and the meaning will evolve and change. Hopefully anyway.

  3. I’ve been thinking about an arm piece for a really long time. I want it so bad but I do have thoughts of what if I regret it. I don’t think I would but that’s probably the only thing holding me back. I have a few tattoos already but something visible all the time is different I think?
    I agree absolutely and think everything in life teaches you something so how can you regret that?
    x

Show me it's not just my Mum that reads my blog... Comment please?

