I’m Not Afraid of Failing

I have put direct plans in place to reach specific goals in my life.
Plans that directly relate to what I want to do for a career.

I’m not afraid to fail.
I know I can do it.

I’m so sure in my heart that this is what I’m meant to be doing that I get tears in my eyes and I can’t not smile because I’m so relieved that I’m finally on my way to being the me I really am.

I am afraid of succeeding though.
I’m afraid of the friends I’ll lose and the enemies I’ll make along the way.

Why?
Because it takes a special kind of person to be happy for someone else’s success.
It takes a special kind of person to say “well done” and be entirely genuine about it.
It takes a special kind of person to accept that someone is entirely happy in who they are and what they’re doing and accept that they know they have found their calling.
It’s hard to not be jealous.
It’s hard to not want to bring them down.
It’s hard to not want to accentuate their flaws or pick on their insecurities because then you feel better. If they’re not perfect, you can be a little happier in yourself that they have found their true love because you can focus on that.

I refuse to be that person.

I’m not afraid of falling.
I’m not afraid of getting hurt.
I’m not afraid of dead ends and hard work.

I am afraid that people in my life won’t be able to accept that I am doing what I love.
But those people will have to accept it and be happy or get out of my way.

I refuse to compromise what I’m destined for because others’ may not be able to handle it.

If we could all just be a little bit happier for those around us, maybe we’d realise more quickly our heart’s calling.

Show me it's not just my Mum that reads my blog... Comment please?

