A New Leaf

image

I am motivated to change.
I feel like it’s been building up for a while. Trying to eat better.
Getting involved with a local farm where you can work for produce.
Growing a (small) veggie garden last season.
But I want to do more.

image

This will house a couple of chickens (to be let out during the day) for eggs and food scraps

image

That corner will have another veggie patch – it will be made of besablocks so the holes can have marigolds to keep the bugs away

image

These are herbs and edible flowers

image

This is waiting for more plants ๐Ÿ™‚
The top photo is our tomatoes which reseeded themselves and our heirloom carrots.

I want a tea garden. And I want to grow all our veggies

image

With these I’m going to try and do the dirtless root veggies – potato, sweet potato and yakon.
I just want my kids to grow up knowing what real food is and where it comes from.
I want to to be fun and I want them to understand the feeling of eating something they’ve grown.

I don’t want to rely on supermarkets.

I want my money to stay local.

3 thoughts on “A New Leaf

  1. Oh that is so cool!!!! So marigolds keep away bugs? I might need to get some advice off you Jess. We’ve just started growing some herbs, tomatoes, chilli’s, zucchini etc but the bugs keep eating my tomato plants! Waaaa!

Show me it's not just my Mum that reads my blog... Comment please?

