I Don’t Want a Fancy Garden

I can’t stand fancy gardens.
The more I see them, the more I just don’t understand.
They don’t serve any purpose.

Much the same as empty yards.
We have an empty back yard.
There are no plants in it at all.
I dislike it immensely – there is nowhere to hide and climb and explore.
One of my favorite things to do as a child was climb an old eucalyptus tree that grew in our garden. And then we’d trek through the ferns under the palms to the secret rock you could sit on and watch the back of the house through the birds of Paradise but not be seen by anyone if you were careful.
You could collect Bush lemons or pick wattle.
There were so many things to do and the block was not overly big -1000m2 which I think is just a little over average.
It was not a Fancy Garden and that’s what made it a perfect one.

I can’t really do anything to our yard. I’m sure my landlords would let me – they’re fine with veggie patches and chooks – but we just can’t justify spending a lot of money on a yard that’s not ours and realistically we’d like to own our own in the next 5 years or so.
It’s going to hurt enough that I’ll have to rebuild my veggie gardens somewhere else and what if the new people that live here don’t look after the ones here and I just don’t want to think about it.

I can’t build gardens but I can build patches.

image

image

image

These are just jumbles of herbs and flowers and fruit and veggies.
Then my kids can see something new in each one.
And they’re probably a bit too packed but they’ll need fertilizer anyway so that’s not really an issue.
They’ll become layers of deliciousness and excitement to find new things.

There’s snow peas, brocoli, strawberries, lavender, lemon thyme, basil, mixed lettuce, violas, rosemary, nasturtiums, thyme, carrots and tomatoes.

I love seeing the kids faces when they find something ripe or new.

Also, these flowers? Totally edible. Chuck them in a salad.

image

2 thoughts on “I Don’t Want a Fancy Garden

    • How did I not reply to this?
      We’re doing this to a house that isn’t ours. It makes me a little sad that I’ll leave all this effort behind one day but I’m also not willing to wait anymore to make it happen ❤

Show me it's not just my Mum that reads my blog... Comment please?

